Ruskin Bond’s poetry

A few years ago, I managed to score an interview with Ruskin Bond. Thrilled to bits, I happily mentioned how I read his books when I was young. “My dear child, how are you now?” pat came the response. Now, what was I supposed to say. “Younger, I mean younger…”

What I am trying to say is I love Ruskin Bond. I’d like to say I’ve read everything he’s written, but he’s far too prolific for me to make such a claim. I just discovered a poem written by him in a slim book of verse–A Little Night Music–published in 2004. A poem from its pages, that tells us why the night must be loved:

DON’T BE AFRAID OF THE DARK

Don’t be afraid of the dark,little one,
the earth must rest when the day is done,
the sun may be harsh, but moonlight–never!
and those stars will be shining forever and ever,
be friends with the night the night,there is nothing to fear,
just let your thoughts travel to friends far and near.
by day,it does seem that our troubles won’t cease,
but at night, late at night, the world is at peace.

~

Leave a Reply

